This conference is devoted to relations between quantum field theory and string theory one hand, and mathematical knot theory and random matrix models on the other hand. Surprising connections between these areas of research have been found in last years. In the conference we will summarize important recent developments in this context and try to set the goals for the future research. Topics considered in the conference include: supersymmetric gauge theories, BPS states, topological string theory, integrability, homological knot invariants, matrix models, topological recursion.

Speakers include:

Murad Alim, Jørgen Andersen, Miranda Cheng, Tudor Dimofte, Bertrand Eynard, Sergei Gukov, Lotte Hollands, Rinat Kashaev, Albrecht Klemm, Piotr Kucharski, Motohico Mulase, Satoshi Nawata, Boris Pioline, Elli Pomoni, Markus Reineke, Marko Stošić


To register for the conference please write an e-mail to Petr Vasko ( before August 20, 2018, stating your name and affiliation, and arrival and departure dates. Some support for travel or accommodation for participants may be available – to apply for it please send a request before August 1, 2018, to the same e-mail address (, explaining why and what kind of support you might need. Please also let us know if you would be interested in presenting a poster during the conference, or whether you wish to stay at the Hera Guest House (see below).


Ehsan Hatefi, Miłosz Panfil, Piotr Sułkowski (chair), Petr Vasko
Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw

Special events

Conference dinner
September 26 (Wednesday), 19:00


To be announced...


To be announced...

Spacetime details

Dates & Time:

September 25-28, 2018

Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw
ul. Pasteura 5, 02-093 Warsaw, Poland
Lecture hall 0.06 (ground floor)


We have secured a limited number of rooms at the Hera Guest House (affordable, student standard) owned by the University of Warsaw. To go from Hera to the campus, you can take the bus line 167 at the stop “Spacerowa” and get off at “Och-Teatr,” and walk from there (directions on and Google Maps). Another affordable hotel, a walking distance to the campus, is Ibis Warszawa Reduta.


  1. Murad Alim (University of Hamburg)
  2. Jørgen Andersen (Aarhus University)
  3. Alexandra Anokhina (ITEP, Moscow)
  4. Aditya Bawane (Seoul University and SISSA)
  5. Miranda Cheng (University of Amsterdam)
  6. Paweł Ciosmak (University of Warsaw)
  7. Tudor Dimofte (University of California Davis)
  8. Bertrand Eynard (CEA, Saclay)
  9. Sergei Gukov (California Institute of Technology)
  10. Ehsan Hatefi (University of Warsaw)
  11. Lotte Hollands (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh)
  12. Jakub Jankowski (University of Warsaw)
  13. Rinat Kashaev (University of Geneva)
  14. Albrech Klemm (University of Bonn)
  15. Piotr Kucharski (Uppsala University)
  16. Helder Larraguivel (University of Warsaw)
  17. Motohico Mulase (University of California Davis)
  18. Satoshi Nawata (Fudan University, Shanghai)
  19. Dmitry Noshchenko (University of Warsaw)
  20. Miłosz Panfil (University of Warsaw)
  21. Boris Pioline (Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris 6 and CNRS)
  22. Elli Pomoni (DESY)
  23. Markus Reineke (Bochum University)
  24. Marko Stošić (IST, Lisbon)
  25. Artur Strąg (University of Warsaw)
  26. Piotr Sułkowski (University of Warsaw)
  27. Petr Vasko (University of Warsaw)